Embassy of the Kingdom of the Netherlands in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Schengen visa requirements

The Schengen Agreement took effect on March 26th, 1995, and currently comprises the following countries:
Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and the Czech Republic.

The purpose of the Schengen Agreement is - among other objectives - the issuance of a common and uniform visa for short-term stays of up to 90 days in one or several of the Schengen countries.

Malaysian citizens do not require a visa when travelling to one of the Schengen countries for business or tourism reasons. The stay in the Schengen States, however, may not exceed 90 days within a 6-months period.

Please note that the Malaysian visitor will need to present a valid Malaysian passport, proof of sufficient funds and a return airline ticket upon arrival at the first point of entry in the Schengen States.

In case you are a citizen of a country that does need a visa to enter the Schengen States or as a Malaysian citizen intending to stay longer than three months you will have to apply for a visa before travelling.

Applications should be made in person at the Embassy.

Note: Your application can only be accepted if all requested documents are submitted. The average processing time is 2 weeks, depending on your nationality.

Types of Visa

Airport Transit Visa

Short Stay Visa (1 to 90 days)

 Where Should You Apply?

1.      If you intend to visit only one Schengen country, you must apply at the Embassy of that particular country.

 2.      If you intend to visit several Schengen countries, you must apply for a visa at the embassy of the country that is your main destination. The main destination is ascertained according to the purpose of the trip and the length of stay.

 3.      If you intend to visit several Schengen countries but do not have a main destination, you should apply for a visa at the embassy of the country that is your first point of entry.

 4.      If you do not need a visa for the Schengen country that is your main destination or first point of entry, please note that you may require a visa for other Schengen countries you wish to visit. You should then apply at the Embassy of the first Schengen country that requires you to have a visa.



Related documents